Saturday Morning Sweets: Oatmeal Honey Bread

Oatmeal Honey Bread 3

Multiple photos this week since they came out so pretty.

I have recently begun what I think of as Experiments In Yeast, all title-case like that. I’ve made just about every kind of quick bread I know of, but before last week, I’d never made anything that involved yeast. As the air cools and the leaves start to turn, it seemed like the perfect time to finally start working through some of the recipes in the Bread and Soup Cookbook my housemate gave me for Christmas.

Bread and Soup Cookbook

The instructions in this book are awesome—very clear and detailed, and cover all the basics that some books assume you know, like how to knead and how to make stock. But I was remarkably short on ingredients that day, and anyway for my first attempt I wanted a recipe with as few variables as possible so it would easy to pinpoint the culprit if something went wrong. So I googled around a bit and found the Homesick Texan’s recipe for Oatmeal Honey Bread. It’s a no-knead recipe, though I kneaded it anyway to get a feel for how to do it, but I figured that if it didn’t rise properly or something, my technique would probably not be to blame.

Oatmeal Honey Bread 2

This is going immediately into the favorites file. It’s dense and moist, with the rich mildness of oatmeal and a hint of sweetness. I made it on a Friday night and both loaves were gone by Saturday afternoon.

It’s sweet and flavorful enough to have as a snack on its own, with a bit of butter or peanut butter, but hearty enough to stand up to the fabulous Portuguese soup we were having for dinner that night. Though I wouldn’t recommend dunking, which I did completely by accident and did not enjoy. (My boyfriend does almost all the cooking at our house and I forgot to ask him what he was planning on making before setting my heart on this bread, thus the poorly conceived pairing.)

Oatmeal Honey Bread 1

This is the perfect way to warm up your kitchen on a chilly afternoon: it’s easy, it smells good and tastes great, and it’s homey and comforting.

One Response

  1. Word, that’s good bread.

Leave a Reply

