Quick hit: Even famous women are Mrs. Husband

I’m watching brainless television today because the cold I picked up at the inauguration has erected booger roadblocks in my neural pathways. (I have not forgotten my promise of an inauguration post! Coming soon, I swear.) Currently on is Trivial Pursuit: America Plays (warning: video with sound starts playing immediately), which is exactly as bad as you think it is. But what’s really annoying me—other than the fact that apparently Trivial Pursuit is now pop-culture-only rather than general knowledge—is this one question in particular:

Q: What is the better-known stage name of Mrs. Antonio Banderas?
A: Melanie Griffith

Not only was Melanie Griffith born Melanie Griffith, making that her real, legal name and not her stage name at all, but she has, so far as I can tell, never changed it, not for any of her three marriages.

So even if you’re famous in your own right, your identity will be subsumed by your husband’s immediately upon your marriage.

I give up. I’m off to make myself a tea-and-Sudafed cocktail.

2 Responses

  1. Unfortunately, it’s difficult to get society to recognize you’re not playing its gender role games.

    I was originally planning to take my wife’s surname when we got married. She later pointed out to me that it wouldn’t have made much of a difference, since people would just assume that since we had the same last name that she had taken mine and would refer to us as Mr. and Mrs. what-they-would-think-was-my-original-surname.

    So we’ve kept our names, but we still get mail addressed to Mr. and Mrs. my-first-name my-last-name.

    • Stories like yours are depressingly common, ubuntucat. You’d think famous women would have an easier time of it since their names were well known before their marriages, but as random game show people apparently like to remind me, not so much.

Leave a Reply

