One day

I don’t even know what to say right now.

I’m sick of writing about, reading about, talking about, thinking about this election, and yet I cannot get enough of it. I’m so glad it’ll finally be over; I’m so scared it’ll finally be over.

I’m planning to spend the day in a baking frenzy, ostensibly to prepare for the results-watching party I’m having tomorrow, but really to calm my nerves and keep myself from obsessively reloading FiveThirtyEight, hoping for reassurance that the Republicans can’t possibly steal this one.

Tonight I’m going to try to do some last-minute phone banking against Prop 8. But there’s really not much left to say or do. Just this: Make sure you know where your polling place is, tell your boss you’ll be missing work, and get to the polls tomorrow.

5 Responses

  1. Yeah, I’m about ready for it to be over. Been an interesting ride, no doubt, but I’m ready to be done now.

    (Trying not to think about the fact that the Perpetual Campaign means the 2012 campaign starts on Wednesday…ugh)

  2. -tight hug- I know exactly what you mean. I feel nervous and excited and sick to my stomach. I want to go to sleep and not wake up until Wednesday, when everything that matters to me will have been decided (city & state races). I want to be awake every moment to do what I can and watch the results come in. Go you for phonebanking!

  3. Thanks, PD. This sure is a queasy-making boat we’re in. I’m sure we’ll both make it through somehow.

    Scott, that kind of talk is going to make me curdle the creme brulee.

  4. Ack! I’ll keep my mouth shut. Crème brulée is important.

  5. Yes, very important! And finicky.

Leave a Reply

